PSN Logo


Phytopathological Society of Nigeria (PSN)


About The Phytopathological Society of Nigeria (PSN)

Leading the Fight against Plant Diseases in Nigeria


PSN is a scientific organization devoted to the study of plant diseases and their control. The objectives of our Society are:

1.      To encourage and support research and education in plant pathology

2.      To promote public awareness of the importance of plant diseases and of the         socio-economic benefits of controlling them

3.      To bring together all stakeholders to discuss policies and strategies affecting         crop  improvement.

The Society, formerly known as the "Nigerian Phytopathological Society(NPS)" was officially inaugurated on October 18, 2011 during the first annual conference (October 17 - 20, 2011) at the International Institute of Tropical Agricultural, Ibadan. The second annual conference followed from September 17 - 20, 2012, at the same venue. The Society was incorporated as "Phytopathological Society of Nigeria" with the Corporate Affairs Commission on April 17, 2013 with incorporation number: CAC/IT/NO 60647. The Northern Chapter of the Society had its Inauguration / the first Annual Conference meeting from 09-11 September, 2013 at the Umaru Musa Yar'adua University, Katsina.  The Society also had its third Annual Conference at the University of Ibadan from 13-16 October, 2014 and is now preparing for its fourth annual conference, you can contact us for updates. PSN seek to organize scientific meetings such as this third annual conference, collaborate with donor agencies to support members travel, student bursaries, short term visiting fellowships and very creative projects. PSN provide information on latest developments and research advances in plant health science through its journal; the Journal of Phytopathology and Plant Health (ISSN:2315-9901). PSN seeks to advocate and participate in the exchange of plant health information with public policy makers, and the larger scientific community; and provides opportunities for scientific communication, collaborations, and professional development.


Dr. Sylvester O. Aigbe
Interim President